Committee Information



Christie Walker – Co VP and Program Director


This very active Committee plans regular events for the branch such as Margarita Monday, Dine-Outs, Outdoor Activities and Lunch and Learns.  The Committee is responsible for planning the Annual Membership Luncheon, the bi-annual Women in the Arts program, and the annual Tech Trek Girls reception.

Chair Christie Walker


Laurie Wolfe


The committee is responsible for sharing proposed legislation impacting women and girls with our members and, when needed, issue calls to action to support or oppose legislation as requested by the National Association of University Women.

Chair Laurie Wolfe 


Diane Cooper


AAUW California Tech Trek Science and Math Camp for Girls strives to develop interest and excitement in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) fields and self-confidence in eighth grade young women by providing the experience of living one week on a college campus and participating in hands-on activities in math, science and related fields. (Read More)

Chair Diane Cooper


Lindy Edmond


The ever-increasing student debt burden, rising cost of higher education, and ongoing need for education funding is an alarming reality of our times. We know that women earn less than men, even one-year out of college, and thus may have more difficulty than men in paying off their student debt. AAUW’s educational funding for women remains an important element to closing the funding gap for women in higher education.  AAUW Big Bear Valley annually awards scholarships for up to five senior girls from Big Bear High School for $1,000 each. (Read More)

Chair Lindy Edmond



Public speaking skills are important for anyone’s career.  Speaking well gives a natural edge, whether acing a job interview or presenting ideas to co-workers.  BBV-AAUW encourages high school girls to develop these valuable skills by annually hosting the Speech Trek public-speaking contest. (Read more)

Chair – Jan Bryant


Helaine Apollo


The purpose of the Committee is to offer thanks, congratulations and support for individual members through cards, telephone calls and various good will deeds.

Chair Helaine Apollo

Committee chair persons are chosen by the current President.  If you are interested in taking a leadership role, send a note stating your interest to The Association has several active standing committees, that include subcommittees.